Norwegian Fjords Cruises from the UK: Lines, Ports, Best Months and Example Fares

Updated 30 October 2026 by The Ahoy Fares Team
Waterfalls dropping straight into glassy water, villages tucked under thousand-metre cliffs, and all of it a day or two's sail from home. The Norwegian fjords are an easy no-fly cruise from the UK, with departures from the south coast to Scotland. This guide covers who sails there from which UK port, the ports you're likely to visit, when to go and what it costs.
Every fare below is an example fare, per person, based on two sharing, cruise only, and was checked on 30 Oct 2026, between 5:59pm and 6:02pm UK time. The cheapest cabin is shown first. Fares change daily, so always confirm on the booking page.
Example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time. Prices change, so for today's checked prices see the live deals below.

Which lines sail to the fjords from which UK port?

Southampton
Southampton has plenty of choice, from big resort ships to small adult-only ones. Our Southampton 2027 guide covers the port in depth.
P&O Iona / Britannia, 7-night Norwegian fjords, spring 2027. From £611 (lead-in fare, cabin grade not stated; example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
MSC Meraviglia, 7-night Norwegian fjords, 19 Jun 2027. Interior £829 · Ocean view £1,079 · Balcony £1,099 · Suite £2,309 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:00pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
Sky Princess, 7-night Norwegian fjords, 8 May 2027. Interior £909 · Ocean view £1,269 · Balcony £1,269 · Suite £1,579 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:00pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
Celebrity Apex, 7-night Norwegian fjords, 21 Aug 2027. Interior £1,249 · Ocean view £1,859 · Balcony £1,869 · Suite £3,499 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:00pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
Royal Caribbean's Freedom of the Seas also runs 7-night fjords sailings from Southampton in summer 2027. We couldn't confirm a fare when we checked on 30 Oct 2026.
London Tilbury and Portsmouth
Ambassador Cruise Line sails its adult-only ships, Ambience and Ambition, from several regional ports. These are among the cheapest fjords fares we found (example fares, all checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent):
Springtime Norwegian Fjords, 7 nights from Tilbury, 18 Mar 2027: Eidfjord, Austefjorden, Flåm and Haugesund. From £672.
Norway Fjords & Nordic Traditions, 8 nights from Tilbury, 25 Jun 2027: Austefjorden, Ålesund, Hellesylt and Ulvik. From £748.
Melting Horizons: A Norwegian Spring Voyage, 10 nights from Portsmouth, 9 Apr 2027: Haugesund, Eidfjord, Sandnes, Austefjorden and Flåm. From £950.
Norway's Coastal Charms & Fjordland, 11 nights from Tilbury, 3 Jul 2027: Olden, Ålesund, Geiranger and Eidfjord. From £1,123.
Newcastle, Liverpool and Dundee
Ambassador, Autumnal Norwegian Fjords, 5 nights from Newcastle, 20 Sep 2027: Flåm and Austefjorden. From £879 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
Ambassador, Norway & Northern Ireland Coastal Charms, 10 nights from Liverpool, 23 Jun 2027: Belfast, Geiranger, Ålesund, Måløy and Olden. From £1,359 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
Ambassador, Summertime Fjordland: Scotland & Norway, 10 nights from Dundee, 17 Jul 2027: Haugesund, Eidfjord, Flåm, Austefjorden and Sandnes. From £1,785 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent).
A UK cruise agent notes that Fred. Olsen also sails to the fjords from Liverpool.
Rosyth (for Edinburgh)
Fred. Olsen Balmoral, Norwegian Fjords Bank Holiday Break (L2711), 5 nights, 29 Apr 2027. The route cruises Nordfjord, Sognefjord and Lustrafjord and calls at Olden and Skjolden. Interior £949 · Ocean £1,029 · Balcony £1,899 · Suite £2,399 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time, on Fred. Olsen's own page). Freedom Fares include gratuities and selected drinks with lunch and dinner. Balmoral carries 1,275 guests.
Dover
Saga, "Majesty of the Fjords," Spirit of Adventure, 8 nights, 13 Jun 2027. The route calls at Sandnes (for Stavanger), Geiranger (overnight) and Skjolden. From £3,902 including travel insurance, or £27 less without it (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, on Saga's own page). Every cabin has a balcony, and the fare includes drinks, gratuities, Wi-Fi, a chauffeur to the port and an excursion in every port.
Seabourn — LUXURY. Seabourn Quest's 14-night "Norway's North Cape in Summer Solstice" sails from Dover on 15 Jun 2028, with suites from £13,398 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent). This one goes north to Tromsø and Honningsvåg rather than into the classic western fjords. We couldn't confirm a 2027 Silversea or Regent fjords fare from a UK port when we checked on 30 Oct 2026.
Example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time. Prices change, so for today's checked prices see the live deals below.

The ports you'll probably visit

Geiranger. The village sits at the head of the Geirangerfjord, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. A walk near the centre climbs 327 steps beside the Storfossen waterfall (Saga). On Saga's sailing, you go ashore by launch or tender.
Flåm. Flåm appears on many Ambassador itineraries. Norway's government is helping to fund shore power there, so ships can plug in rather than run their engines in port.
Olden. This village is at the inner end of the Nordfjord. From here you can take the Loen Skylift, which climbs from the valley floor to more than 1,000 metres, or head towards the Briksdal Glacier (Fred. Olsen). It's also an anchor port.
Skjolden. The village lies at the end of the Lustrafjord, a branch of the Sognefjord, Norway's longest and deepest fjord. It's a gateway to the Jotunheimen and Jostedalsbreen national parks (Saga, Fred. Olsen).
Stavanger. Old Stavanger has cobbled lanes and white wooden cottages. Saga calls at nearby Sandnes for it and offers an optional Lysefjord cruise with views of Pulpit Rock.
Ålesund and Bergen both appear regularly on itineraries from Liverpool, Newcastle and Tilbury.

When to go, and how long

The main fjords season runs from April to September (according to a UK cruise agent). Shoulder months can be cheaper. Ambassador's 7-night March sailing from Tilbury starts at £672, and its 5-night September sailing from Newcastle at £879. A summer sailing from Liverpool starts at £1,359. Winter fjords cruises do exist: Ambassador's 6-night "Flåm Railway & Bergen's Winter Wonders" leaves Tilbury on 4 Dec 2027, from £519 (example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 5:59pm UK time, via a UK cruise agent). From October to March, many Norway sailings head north for the aurora instead. See our Northern Lights cruises guide.
Most fjords cruises from the UK last 5 to 12 nights. Five nights gives you two Norwegian calls. Seven or eight nights is the classic length. Ten to twelve nights adds more fjords, or Belfast or Zeebrugge on the way.
Example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time. Prices change, so for today's checked prices see the live deals below.

The emissions rules: what's changing

Norway now limits emissions in its World Heritage fjords: the Nærøyfjord, Aurlandsfjord, Geirangerfjord, Sunnylvsfjord and Tafjord. Since 1 January 2026, passenger ships under 10,000 gross tonnes must use energy sources with no direct CO2 or methane emissions there. Ships of 10,000 gross tonnes or more follow from 1 January 2032. Certified biogas is allowed, and ships must use shore power wherever it's available (Norwegian Maritime Authority).
What it means for you: almost all the cruise ships in this guide are well over 10,000 gross tonnes (Balmoral, for example, is 43,537), so they aren't affected until 2032. Itineraries may still change as ports and lines adapt, so check the ports before you book.

Money-saving tips

Compare per night, not per cruise. Fred. Olsen's 5-night Rosyth break at £949 works out at about £190 a night. Ambassador's 8-night Tilbury sailing at £748 is about £94 a night.
Count what's included. P&O, MSC (UK bookings), Fred. Olsen and Saga include gratuities. Princess, Celebrity and Royal Caribbean add a daily charge in US dollars. Our first-cruise guide has the figures.
Pick the port that saves you a long drive. A Newcastle, Liverpool or Rosyth departure can save a night's hotel near Southampton.
Example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time. Prices change, so for today's checked prices see the live deals below.

FAQ

What's the cheapest Norwegian fjords cruise from the UK?
Of the fares we checked on 30 Oct 2026, the lowest was P&O's 7-night spring sailing from Southampton, from £611 (lead-in fare, cabin grade not stated). Ambassador's 7-night March sailing from Tilbury followed at £672.
Do I need a passport?
Yes. Norway is outside the UK, so take a valid passport. See our first-cruise guide for documents.
Which fjords cruises visit Geiranger?
Of the ones in this guide: Ambassador's sailings from Liverpool (23 Jun 2027) and Tilbury (3 Jul 2027), and Saga's sailing from Dover (13 Jun 2027).
Can I see the Northern Lights on a summer fjords cruise?
Not usually. UK aurora sailings run in the darker months, roughly September to April. See our Northern Lights cruises guide.
Example fare, checked 30 Oct 2026, 6:02pm UK time. Prices change, so for today's checked prices see the live deals below.

Sources

https://www.fredolsencruises.com/cruise/l2711
https://travel.saga.co.uk/cruises/ocean/where-we-go/norway-cruises/majesty-of-the-fjords.aspx
https://www.sdir.no/en/news/zero-emission-requirement-for-the-world-heritage-fjords-adopted/
https://www.regjeringen.no/en/whats-new/introducing-zero-emission-requirements-in-the-world-heritage-fjords/id3051481/
Get the Ahoy 20 cruise deals every week
The Ahoy Fares newsletter: our 20 picks of the week’s UK cruise deals, free.
Free when you join: our printable UK cruise packing list (PDF). You’ll get it as soon as you confirm your email.

Free. We won’t sell your email and you can unsubscribe any time. Your email goes to Kit, our email provider; see our Privacy Policy.
Can’t see our email? Check your spam or promotions folder and add hello@ahoyfares.co.uk to your contacts.
Follow @ahoyfares
© 2026 Ahoy Fares · by The Ahoy Fares Team · hello@ahoyfares.co.uk
Ahoy Fares, 121 High Street, Rushden, Northamptonshire, NN10 0NZ, United Kingdom
Ahoy Fares is an independent cruise deals guide covering the whole UK market. Independent means we're not a travel agent, and no cruise line or agent owns us. Some links may be affiliate links: if you book through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commission doesn't decide which deals we show; our own rules do (the whole market, cheapest cabin first). Prices are per person in GBP based on two sharing.